List Of The 8 Local Government Areas In Bayelsa State And Their Towns In Nigeria

JEROME MICHAEL EBRUPHIYO Tuesday, October 5, 2021 Basis

This post will provide information on the list of the 8 local government areas in Bayelsa state and their towns in Nigeria as well as provide answers to questions like: Is Bayelsa an Igbo? How many tribes are there in Bayelsa State? Who is the founder of Bayelsa? How Bayelsa state was created? How many local government area is in Bayelsa State? what are the 8 local government areas in Bayelsa State?

Brief History of Bayelsa State in Nigeria

During the 20th century, demands for a new, majority-Ijaw state to be drawn in the Niger Delta Region became common. Between 1941 and 1956, numerous Ijaw nationalist organizations supportive of an Ijaw-majority state in Southern Nigeria were founded. Isaac Adaka Boro, a prominent Ijaw rights activist during the 1960's who was born in Oloibiri, attempted to proclaim a "Niger Delta Peoples Republic" in 1966. Bayelsa State was created out of Rivers State on October 1, 1996 by the Sani Abacha's military government. Its name was derived from the first few letters of the names of the major local government areas from which it was formed, they are: Brass LGA (BALGA), Yenagoa LGA (YELGA) and Sagbama LGA (SALGA).

Culture and Belief of the People of Bayelsa State in Nigeria

Bayelsa state Is predominantly Ijaw, with the Ijaw languages being widely spoken also Isoko and Urhobo spoke within their ancestral towns in the state. It is also the ancestral home of the Isoko people and the Urhobo people in the Sagbama local govt area. The state nicknamed “Glory of all Lands” has the largest gas reservoir (18 trillion cubic feet) in Nigeria. Christianity is the major religion practiced in Bayelsa State with a miture of traditional religions.

List of the Local Government Areas in Bayelsa State and their Towns in Nigeria

1. Brasss Local Government Area

It is located in Brass town with about 6 towns and villages which include:
  • Okpoama
  • Sangana
  • Odioma
  • Ewoama
  • Konsho
  • Cape Farmosa

2. Ekeremor Local Government Area

It has its administrative headquarters in Ekeremor town with about 4 districts and villages which are:
  • Eduwini
  • Oporomor
  • Oyiakiri
  • Tarakiri

3. Kolokuma/Opokuma Local Government Area

It is located in Kaiama town with 2 districts including Asaingbene and Ayibabiri Gbaran-Ama, with other villages.

4. Nembe Local Government Area

It has its administrative headquarters in Nembe Town with about 7 districts and villages which include:
  • Oluasiri
  • Okoroma
  • Ogbolomabiri
  • Bassambiri
  • Igbeta-Ewoama
  • Ikensi
  • Mini

5. Ogbia Local Government Area

It is located in Ogbia town with about 12 districts ans villages which include
  • Ogbia
  • Okodi
  • Ologi
  • Obibiri
  • Kolo
  • Anyama
  • Imiringi
  • Opume
  • Otakeme
  • Otuabula
  • Otuasega
  • Emeyal

6. Sagbama Local Government Area

It is located in Sagbama town with about 13 districts and villages which include:
  • Otoni
  • Sagbama
  • Ossiama
  • Adagbariri
  • Adoni
  • Agbere
  • Asamabiri
  • Angalabiri
  • Ebedebiri
  • Osekwenike
  • Agoro
  • Toru Ebeni
  • Trotani

7. Southern Ijaw Local Government Area

It is located inOporoma town under Bayelsa Central Senatorial zone of the state with about 10 districts which include:
  • Olodiama
  • Otuan
  • Ukubie
  • West Boma
  • Amassoma
  • Apoi Central
  • Boma Central
  • East Boma
  • Foropa
  • Koluama

8. Yenagoa Local Government Area

It doubles as the state capital as well as the Local Government Council with about 7 districts which include:
  • Attissa
  • Biseni
  • Gbarain
  • Okoraia
  • Zarama
  • Epie
  • Ekpetiama

| Comments (0) | Views(540)

Add your comment

Other Posts
Emmason Integratded Services(2017-2024)
All Rights Reserved
Designed and Maintained By Emmason Integrated Services