Comprehensive Geopolitical Zones in Nigeria and their States

Nuelson Penuel Saturday, August 12, 2023 Basis



Nigeria is divided into six geopolitical zones, which are further divided into states for administrative purposes. Each geopolitical zone consists of several states and has its unique cultural, economic, and political characteristics. Here is a detailed exploration of the six geopolitical zones in Nigeria and the states they comprise:

1. North-West Geopolitical Zone:

The North-West Zone consists of seven states, including Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, and Zamfara. This zone is predominantly inhabited by the Hausa-Fulani ethnic group and is known for its rich cultural heritage, ancient cities, and agricultural practices. Kano, the largest city in this zone, is a major commercial and industrial center.

2. North-East Geopolitical Zone:

The North-East Zone comprises six states, including Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, and Yobe. This zone is diverse in terms of ethnicity and has a rich cultural history. The region has faced significant security challenges due to the activities of insurgent groups like Boko Haram. The city of Maiduguri, located in Borno state, is the largest city and serves as the commercial hub of the zone.

3. North-Central Geopolitical Zone:

The North-Central Zone consists of six states, including Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, and Plateau. This zone is often referred to as the "Middle Belt" and is known for its ethno-religious diversity. It serves as a transition zone between the predominantly Muslim north and the predominantly Christian south of Nigeria. The North-Central Zone is also known for its agriculture, mining, and tourism potential.

4. South-West Geopolitical Zone:

The South-West Zone comprises six states, including Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, and Oyo. It is home to the Yoruba ethnic group and is known for its vibrant culture, rich history, and economic activities. Lagos, the commercial capital of Nigeria, is located in this zone and is a major hub for trade, finance, and industry.

5. South-South Geopolitical Zone:

The South-South Zone consists of six states, including Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Edo, and Rivers. This zone is situated in the Niger Delta region and is known for its abundant oil and gas reserves. The people of this zone, including the Ijaw, Urhobo, and Itsekiri, rely on fishing and farming for their livelihoods. Port Harcourt, located in Rivers state, is a major economic and industrial center in the region.

6. South-East Geopolitical Zone:

The South-East Zone comprises five states, including Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Enugu, and Imo. It is primarily inhabited by the Igbo ethnic group and is known for its strong entrepreneurial spirit, educational institutions, and cultural heritage. The region has a significant Igbo population and is the economic hub of the eastern part of Nigeria.


These geopolitical zones in Nigeria serve as a basis for administrative and political purposes, allowing for effective governance and distribution of resources. Each zone has its unique characteristics and contributes to Nigeria's overall cultural, economic, and political landscape.

| Comments (0) | Views(77)

Add your comment

Other Posts
Emmason Integratded Services(2017-2024)
All Rights Reserved
Designed and Maintained By Emmason Integrated Services